Re: “Goodbye” [50 words]

I had you. But you wouldn’t be mine. Your sadness, your tears; you carried them everywhere.

Strained, distant, hateful, I sought the you of you. She was buried somewhere between unsaid wishes and doubt.

I crave you and your harlequin melancholy. I lost you. I miss you.

I love you.


This piece is a response to In Noir Velvet‘s compactly crafted fifty-word-story “Goodbye.” If you enjoy rich, (very) short fictive snacks, her site is worth wandering through.

Featured Photo Credit: John Perivolaris (c) 2006

Leave a Reply

